New Nevada DUI Laws

New Nevada DUI Laws

Las Vegas primal law attorney

We have been reading through the new DUI law which took effect yesterday, October 1, 2018. We will be studying in more detail, but for now, it looks like the most significant changes are three:

Under the new law, if you arrested for driving with .08 BAC (or .02 BAC if under 21) will have to get an interlock device for 90 days. If you are convicted, meaning you go through the court process and are found guilty and sentenced, the judge may order an interlock device for another six (6) months. Under the old law, Nevada only required interlock if a person had a BAC of .18 or higher and only after conviction.

Second, if you fail to install that breath interlock device while you have a restrictive license, your license could then be suspended for three years for a first offense, or five years for a second offense or more.
Third, if your test shows a BAC of .08 or higher, you will automatically lose your license for 185 days for a first DUI offense. Under the old law, it was only 90 days for a first time offense. You can apply for a restricted license (to drive to and from work) after 93 days, but must first show proof of the interlock device and the SR-22 insurance rider.

Remember we offer free Tipsy Tow for motorcycles so that you do not have to risk these consequences or worse.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Registration

Forgotten Password??